Shipshewana’s Mayfest

Shipshewana: Mayfest, May 6 & 7

I realize I’m a week early with this post, but I wanted to give you time to adjust your weekend plans. : )

While polling my FB friends about favorite activities during festivals, I learned that my friend Lynn–owner of Morton Street Coffee Shop in Shipshe–loves Mayfest best of all. So of course I had to check it out!

I found the schedule of events includes donkey basketball, which we have here in Texas. It also includes musicians, puppets, a 1 mile fun run, and buggy races. It was the buggy races that Lynn was excited about.

“There is a parade and right after the parade we are having buggy races: 2 people pull the buggy down Morton St. (There are 2 people in the Amish Buggy.) And when they get to the end the riders and pullers switch places and race back–gut fun! HaHa!”

This I’d really like to see. That’s not all they’re having either.

“We go to the Entertainment and Food Tent for Pork Burgers and homemade treats and listen to the evening entertainment and catch up with our neighbors. This year they are having an Auctioneering Contest and lots of local entertainment–Gospel and Bluegrass groups.”

I hope Lynn is on their tourism committee. If not, she should be, because I’m sold! In fact, I think I’ll go check the cost of a flight ticket right now.

V~

VannettaChapman@gmail.com

ps – My September release, Falling to Pieces, is set in the town of Shipshewana. It’s the first in a 3 book Amish murder mystery series, and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Shipshewana’s Mayfest

  1. Shelley Adina April 30, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Oh, this sounds like such fun. Must put it on my life list. Can’t wait for your September book, Vannetta–looks like we’re going to be shelf mates!

  2. vannettachapman April 30, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Shelley, that’s awesome news. I love your webpage and the girlscout troop I spoke with adored your books! : )

Comments are closed.