RWA and the RITAs

By the time you’re reading this I’m leaving TX and  on my way to sunny Florida. I’ve been to Orlando a few times, but this trip will be different for me in a few ways.

First, I’m leaving from CENTRAL Texas–we’re talking small town. Instead of driving to Austin or Dallas, I’m going to try flying out of a regional airport. I’ll let you know how that goes. Actually I’ve flown in a puddle-jumper before, and thought it was a hoot. Anything to stay off the freeways.

Secondly, my focus this trip will be different. Many people go to a conference to pitch a manuscript. In the past, I suppose that was my reason. I not only wanted to meet important people, I needed to meet them. This time though, I have my contracts and instead I’m going to meet in person the people who have guided and helped me through the last year.

I’m looking forward to that. It’s one thing to send an email thanking someone. It’s another thing altogether to shake a hand, share a meal, or give a hug.

A lot of people I admire and respect will be there, including my agent, my Abingdon editor, and some writers who have helped me along the way (waving madly to Amy and the FHL bunch). Other writers that I have watched from afar, but have also been instrumental in guiding me will be there–women like Nora Roberts, Debbie Macomber, and Cindy Woodsmall.

I’d love to hear the most important thing you’ve ever taken away from a workshop or conference. Leave a comment if you have a chance. And I’ll still see you on Saturday to discuss Amish things, Christmas, and mysteries.

V~

VannettaChapman@gmail.com

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “RWA and the RITAs

  1. Lynette Sowell July 28, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Heh, heh. I love our little regional airport. It’s pretty classy looking for a small airport. It’s the little jets with the little seats that get interesting… 🙂

    One of the best things I took away from conference was that ‘editors are readers too.’ I still get nervous sometimes when pitching an idea, but the fact that they love books makes me remember what I have in common with them.

    • vannettachapman July 28, 2010 at 7:28 pm

      It was great! I love those little planes. It’s like being a toy in the sky. And talk about an easy in and out! There were six gates and one security check point. Cool, right?

Comments are closed.