Daily Archives: August 25, 2010

Inspirational Reading

 

Inspirational reading comes in all shapes and forms. By now you know that on Wednesdays, I try to highlight some other book that I’m reading or have been made aware of. It was only a matter of time, before my husband had an influence on this segment of the blog! : )

Yesterday he brought home Drew Brees’ bestseller, “Coming Back Stronger.” I knew something of Drew’s background from watching the Superbowl last year and hearing my husband talk about him. Then when I was at the RWA conventional last month, I sat by a lovely woman from New Orleans who told me what a wonderful young man Drew is and how proud the people of her city are of him. She also told me that at their local bookstore, folks had lined up at 11 pm the night before its release to have their copy autographed. When Drew arrived, he came with enough Krispy Kreme donuts for everyone, and he stayed until he signed the very last copy. What a guy!

I read 44 pages last night – which is a lot considering this is a SPORTS book and I was also feeling a bit under the weather. It’s quite a fascinating read. Here’s one portion that leapt out at me. When talking about his ACL tear in 1995, Drew writes,

“I was sitting in the pew with my crutches next to me and my knee brace on, thinking about the future. It had been about two weeks since the surgery, and I was lost in all the questions. . . . As I sat there thinking about those deep, huge questions that everyone faces at some point, the pastor, Dr. Browning Ware, was preaching about what God desires us to be. As an illustration in his message, he mentioned the movie A Few Good Men. He said that God is looking for a few good men to carry on his teachings and to walk the walk with Christ. That’s when the lightbulb came on for me. He’s talking to me. I want to be one of God’s few good men.”

This books is a great read. It’s an inspirational read in the truest sense of the word. I hope you’ll check it out, or at the very least – buy it for the special man in your life. I plan on finishing it myself. Then I might hand it back to my husband.

V~

VannettaChapman@gmail.com