Quilt Gardens

 

I can’t think of two words that are more lovely and more lovely TOGETHER. As the fields around me fade to browns and grays, I look back over my Amish pictures and what jumps out? QUILT GARDENS.

When we were in Shipshewana this summer we were delighted to discover the Quilt Garden Tour. Free, spread across 7 communities in Northern Indiana, and containing over 90,000 blooms, these 17 gardens are a sight to behold. We were able to visit the ones in Shipshewana, Goshen, Middlebury, Nappanee, and Elkhart.

It was a delight to be driving along a county road or through a small town and realize one was only a block away. We’d pull out our garden map and go exploring. And what a treasure we’d find. I thought it was a wonderful way for the Englisch and Amish communities to offer a joint project to visitors. I’ve been told by readers that one of the most loved aspects of Amish stories is quilting. After visiting the Amish communities in Indiana I understand why. I saw quilts in stores, quilts in B&Bs, and quilts in their gardens!

If you do get up to Indiana in the spring or summer, put the quilt tour on your list of things to see. For the rest of us, enduring the last of summer’s heat, I hope you enjoy the pictures.

V~

Vannettachapman@gmail.com

8 thoughts on “Quilt Gardens

  1. Janet August 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Thanks for the post about the quilt gardens in Indiana. I haven’t heard about this before. As and avid gardener, and newly interested in all things Amish, this looks like a wonderful place to visit.

    • vannettachapman August 21, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Go to INDIANA. Go THIS week! : ) I can only imagine how lovely and cool it must be there, as my husband just showed me the forecast for central TX and it’s scheduled to be 105 here. Glad you enjoyed the pics, Janet.

  2. Sue Watson August 22, 2010 at 3:11 am

    I grew up in Indiana near an Amish community, but I never heard of these. I’ll check it out the next time I go back.

    • vannettachapman August 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      Sue, I’d love to hear more stories about your growing-up-days! And if you do go back and take pictures of the Quilt Gardens, share them with us! : )

  3. Jackie Hughes August 23, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Vanetta, we’re delighted you were pleasantly surprised to discover the Quilt Gardens along the Heritage Trail and so pleased you shared that with your readers.
    For those still planning to get here in 2010, gardens bloom thru September.
    Garden patterns change every year, so plan to come back in 2011. There’s nothing else like it!
    And be sure to stop by the Elkhart County Visitors Center and say hi!

  4. vannettachapman August 23, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Jackie, thank you so much for the additional information. That is a great point that the patterns do change every year, and the visitors center is definitely worth a stop by.

    • vannettachapman August 25, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Glad you stopped by, Jackie. Isn’t NetGalley great? I will definitly check out Fans of Amish Fiction! Thanks for the hint. : ) See you there.

  5. Diane U August 25, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Vannetta~

    OMG, those quilt gardens are gorgeous! I would love to see them in person!

    Thank you so much for leaving a comment over on my blog about my posting on Net Galley. I love Amish fiction and I am looking forward to reading A Simple Amish Christmas. I’ll let you know when I read your book.

    I will be following your blog since it is so interesting!!!

    Do you belong to Good Reads? If so, there is a group called Fan of Amish Fiction and you are listed as an author along with your book. Please stop by and leave us a message. There are only a small handful of active members in the group but we all love Amish fiction! After talking about this, I now need to go back to Lancaster, PA!!!

Comments are closed.