Amish and ACFW

What could AMISH and ACFW possibly have to do with each other? I’m so glad you asked!

As you’re reading this, I’m attending my first ACFW Conference. I’ve only been a member of American Christian Fiction Writers for a year, and already it’s hard for me to imagine NOT being a part of this group. With the contract of my first inspirational book (A Simple Amish Christmas, Abingdon books) and then a few weeks later a 3 book contract (Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series) – I was a babe in the woods last winter. I needed help and guidance, and the good people of ACFW were there to provide it.

Now I’m in Indianapolis, finally meeting the people who have guided me for the last 12 months. How great is that? I’m psyched!

I’m also having a pretty cool Amish meeting. Okay, it’s not a meeting with Amish folk. Though Shipshewana is only 3 hours to the north, I won’t have time for that side trip. No, instead I’m talking about an AMISH AUTHOR meeting (squeal). Yup. You heard me correctly.

WHO might I be talking about? Cindy Woodsmall, Barbara Cameron, there are more . . . but I’m just learning who everyone is and what they write! Needless to say, I’m pumped about this. To be able to sit down and talk to the best and most experienced writers in my genre, that’s a wonderful opportunity.

If you’re in the Indie area, most of us will be signing books at one time or other. If you go to the ACFW site and click here, you’ll see the schedule in the middle of the page. We’d love to have you stop by. My time is Sunday morning from 9-9:30, and yes-this is my FIRST book signing. If you can’t make that time, our books will be in the bookstore throughout the conference.

Conferences are good for learning, connecting and mostly meeting friends–here’s to meeting new ones and old ones.

V~

VannettaChapman@gmail.com

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Amish and ACFW

  1. Suzie Johnson September 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Have fun, Vannetta! I wish I could be there.

    • vannettachapman September 18, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Suzie, I wish you were here too. Of course, I wasn’t even a member of ACFW last year – so I had no idea I’d be here a year ago. Funny how things can change in so short a time . . . but then again it took 9 years of writing to get here. So spurts and spaces. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sue Harrison September 19, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Hi Vannetta, I’m a novelist and also a book reviewer for a regional Christian magazine (Encompass) based in Michigan. I’m trying to obtain a copy of A SIMPLE AMISH CHRISTMAS for review in the Nov/Dec issue. I’ve preordered the book from Amazon, but am afraid it won’t arrive in time for me to make the deadline. Any way I could BUY a copy from you or your publisher. I’m not looking for a freebie here. Check out my recent guest post for Rachelle Gardner http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/ so you know I’m really who I say I am. I’m at http://www.sueharrison.com or sue@sueharrison.com. Thank you!! Sue

    • vannettachapman September 19, 2010 at 4:13 am

      Thank you for your comment, Sue. I’ve sent you a private message. We’ll get you a copy.

  3. Cheryl Klarich September 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    How fabulous that you met with Shelley and Cindy! Barbara too!
    I am drawn to the unplugged life (in books) because you can focus more on the emotions and relationships between the characters and also I love the connection to the earth and God’s beauty… also in the novel, you can give them naturally glowing skin… and big Holly Hobby eyes.

    • vannettachapman September 19, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      Cheryl, what a great reply, and I love your term “the unplugged life.” I think we all like the idea of “unplugging” a bit more, but we struggle with finding ways to do it. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Comments are closed.