Daily Archives: September 25, 2010

Amish Authors

That title can be a bit misleading, because AUTHORS of Amish books aren’t usually AMISH, right? I recently attended the ACFW conference, where Cindy Woodsmall suggested that all the Amish Authors meet up and have a gab-fest. Most of us had not met in person before.

It was a fun group (and no, we did not wear bonnets). Can you picture Beth Wiseman in a bonnet? Of course not. She’s a Texas girl, like myself. We had authors who have many Amish books out –  Gayle Roper, Marta Perry, and Shelley Shepard Gray. And we had authors who have recently contracted Amish books, like Kelly Irvin and Leanna Ellis.  (There were other Amish authors IN the building who couldn’t make it – like Jerry Eicher and Barbara Cameron.)

There was a lot of talent gathered in that room, but more than that there was a sweet, sweet spirit. As I listened to each person describe how they’d come to write stories centered around the Amish community I was struck by how God can use a person and use their gifts in a way that sometimes you’d never imagine.

Take me for example. I’d never met an Amish person 18 months ago–certainly there are no large Amish communities in Texas. Now I count many Amish folk as my friends, and I’ve discovered it’s possible I have Amish ancestors. How could I not have known that? How could that part of my history have been lost? And how is it that my love for writing allowed me to regain something precious that I didn’t even know I was missing?

It’s a God-thing. All of us have parts of our lives that are God-things. Not just writers – – – everyone does.

Sitting in a hotel room in Indianapolis, I discovered I had quite a few friends and that we shared something special – – not just a love for telling stories, but a love for telling AMISH stories. I didn’t know that about myself 18 months ago.

I wonder what God will show me in the next 18 months.

V~

VannettaChapman@gmail.com